Medicine Lodge
Select Page

Welcome to Medicine Lodge

2019 Peace Treaty Festival

Peace Treaty 2021

The Gypsum Hills is a special place on the plains. Geological features like buttes, canyons, and mesas throughout the region were home to Native-American heroes, path-blazing pioneers, and saloon-smashing temperance champions.

Every year the Peace Treaty Festival recognizes the things that make the area special among our Plains States peers. The Peace Treaty Associations hosts rodeos, a powwow, historical melodrama, children’s activities, vendors, and much more for three days. Come joins us in celebrating the physical and historical splendor of the region from September 24-26.

For more information or tickets to join the fun visit https://peacetreaty.org/

Medicine Lodge is the most populous city in and the county seat of Barber County, KS. As of the 2010 census, the city population was 2,009. Beautiful Gypsum Hills scenery, rich history, winding rivers, plentiful wildlife and eclectic shops and restaurants are all a part of the charm our town has to offer.

2021 HOLIDAYS

New Year’s Day 2021: Friday, January 1
Good Friday: Friday, April 2
Memorial Day: Monday, May 31
Independence Day: Sunday, July 4 (Observed day July 5)
Labor Day: Monday, September 6
Columbus Day: Monday, October 11
Veteran’s Day: Thursday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day and Friday after:
Thursday, November 25 & Friday, November 26
Christmas Eve: Friday, December 24
Christmas Day: Monday, December 27
New Year’s Eve: Friday, December 31

Nixle
Nixle Notifications Anonymous Tip

Receive important notices from the City & County via text messaging through Nixle, including messages from the National Weather Service. Click here for more information.

Online Action Center

To submit a work order for Public Works or report a City Code violation please click Online Action Center.

Question, comment or concern?